Filip Pyck is the leader in his Renault Clio Rally3 after the first loop  in the Ardeca Ypres Rally Division 2. After four special stages, the Poperinger holds a lead of almost 28 seconds over Nick Toorré (Ford Sierra Cosworth) and almost 40 seconds over Benoit Cornette (BMW M3 E46).

Pyck says he can mainly use his local knowledge and experience against the competition, many of whom are making their debut here.

Thierry Dekoninck (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) lost time due to an off on the  Zillebeke stage and now lies in 4th. Current championship leader Jérôme Septon is fifth, and it is quite important that he scores the necessary points here for his maiden trip in Ypres. He did experience a hairy moment on the Kemmel stage, when he took the jump too quickly with the Peugeot 208 Rally4. When it landed, the car spun several times, but luckily he did not hit anything, and the nose of the car was pointing back in the right direction. His direct competitor Christiaan Spelmans reached Ypres with a battered Renault Clio, after an off. His efforts were not helped by rear axle problems.

Claudie Tanghe also lost a lot of time after he had to change a flat tyre on the Ford Escort RS2000 in the  Watou stage, and lost about four minutes.

The drivers in Division 2 were presented with another loop of  4 stages before reaching the final podium at 7 p.m.

Comments are closed.

Related News

Upcoming rally

22-24 November 2024


Latest pictures

Latest video

Ypres Regularity 2022

Ypres Regularity 2022